The ETIAS is a visa waiver system that will launch by Januray 1, 2022. With the implementation or this travel authorisation system, the European Commission seeks to secure and strengthen the Schengen borders through screening each individual visitor before they are allowed to enter the region.

Citizen from eligible countries will have to apply for the visa through an online application to be able to enter the Schengen area. The ETIAS visa waiver is modeled on the american travel authorisation or ETSA, which serves the same purpose.

The ETIAS will allow travelers to visit and stay in the Schengen region for short stay lasting up to 90-days for purposes of business, tourism or transit. Within the period traveler are free to move within the schengen area without the need to pass border controls.

The European travel authorisation is a visa-waiver and should not be considered as a visa. It is a special travel authorisation that is hassle-free for applicants and can be completed online within a few minutes, without the need to physically go to a consulate for the process.

Who needs to apply for an Etias Visa Waiver?

Currently, around 60 countries are eligible for the ETIAS visa waiver, though more countries are expected to be added to list in near future. Once the system is implemented in 2022, it will be obligatory for all travelers to apply for an ETIAS visa to be able to travel to the Schengen countries.

As ETIAS is not a visa itself, visitors coming to the region for purposes such as work or study need to apply for a travel appropriate visa.

How does the EU travel authorization visa work?

The visitors have to apply for an ETIAS at least 72 hours or 3-day in advance. There is no paper work, the process is completely online, and the application takes about 10 minutes to complete and submit. Applicants need to provide information related to name, address, contact details, travel information and some health-related questions. Once submitted, a processing charge of 7-euro has to be paid. Though applicants under 18 years of age do not need to pay.

If the applicant has given all the necessary information correctly, he will receive an email approval within minutes. However, if there is a hit from the ETIAS, applicants may need to reapply for it manually and the processing may take about 4 days or even 2 weeks.

The approved visa holders are eligible to travel and enter the Schengen area.

What is the purpose of ETIAS Visa Waiver?

The European Commission established the ETIAS system to deal with the ongoing security issues in the European countries. Once the system starts operation, it is expected to strengthen border control through its multiple processes such as screening of visitors before they enter, verifying provided information with Europol databases to identify potential risk factors and prevent them from entering.

When will the ETIAS Visa come into effect?

The soft launch of the ETIAS system is expected by January 1, 2022. However, it will officially come into effect by the end of the same year.

In the first year, the system will be in its transitional phase, to allow the travelers as well the border control to adapt to the new requirements. In the beginning 6-months the ETIAS requirement will be non-compulsory and extendable to further half a year.

After this phase, a six-month grace period will become effective in which visitors need to apply for the ETIAS to be able to travel within the Schengen area. The visitors will be informed by the border authorities subject to the requirement. Though the grace period might be extended further, if necessary.

Which countries needs an Etias Visa to travel in Europe?

  • Albania
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Dominica
  • El Salvador
  • Georgia
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Kiribati
  • Macao
  • Macedonia
  • Malaysia
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent
  • Samoa
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan
  • Timor Leste
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tuvalu
  • Ukraine
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States of America
  • Uruguay
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela